Jomeny Cosme's Blog


The Demand
September 14, 2010, 1:54 pm
Filed under: Daily Motivation

In these times of difficulty everyone is looking to find their place in this world. Everyone wants to feel important and wanted. One of the biggest questions in society is “what is on demand?” What can I do to become irreplaceable? What is it that will separate me from the bunch?

People try to find the things that they are good at and flaunt them. They expose their talents hoping that this will make them succesful. The truth of the matter is that in our times, being good is not enough. In our times, being talented is not enough. So many people are good at a lot things to the point that being good has become too common. Common people end up being tossed aside and ignored and this is not where you want to be. I have a challenge for you today. I challenge you to take what you’re good at and turn it into excellence.

Excellence is what is on demand. It is what separates the common from the extraordinary. No job or opportunity is looking for an average joe, they are looking for that key person that can make all the difference. You can be that person, you can be that rare commodity, you can be a lot more than just talented. I warn you though, it will take a lot of your time and dedication.

If excellence is your destination, then constant progress must be your road. Pick something you’re passionate enough to dedicate all your strengths to develop it. The road to excellence is a very scary one because it will break you and rebuild you many times. It forces you to take an honest look at your abilities, find out where you REALLY are and then determine how you can get further. It makes you be your worst critic.

I have developed a three-step process that I hope helps you as it did me, they are;

1) Identify– This could probably be the hardest step because it requires the most honesty. This is where you ask yourself, How good am I, honestly? What are my flaws? How can I correct them? You can even ask someone else for feedback but make sure this person believes in you and loves you enough to be BRUTALLY honest with you. I always explain to my confidants ” If you love me, you won’t let me perform at a level less than what you know I can give”. 

2) Observe- Find someone who is excellent at what you do. Be humble enough to admit when someone is even better than you are and not see it as a threat. It’s actually a good thing to find someone who is better than you because now you have someone to learn from. Now you have someone who can feed your ability. Learn to look at these people as a blessing and don’t hesitate to soak in all of their expertise.

3) Test– After you have analyzed yourself and others test everything you’ve picked up in the process. I’m not telling you to imitate someone else, I’m saying to take what you have learned and try it in your own style. You can and probably will make some mistakes but you will learn what works for you and what doesn’t. Not everything that works for someone else will work for you but there’s only one way to find out what will work in your case. So don’t be afraid to give some things a test run.

This has worked for me and I’m sure it will push you further in your abilities. Be patient though, it takes time. Day by day progress is the only way to ever reach your full potential. Ask yourself every night before you go to sleep, How am I better today than yesterday? Celebrate the answer no matter how minimal your progress may seem because in the end you are still that much closer to excellence, that much closer to meeting the demand of this life.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

